SSC CGL 2017 Syllabus for Tier-1, Tier-2

The SSC CGL 2017 exam date is expected to be announced in the month of Feb/March 2017. The competition of the exam can be understood with the fact that with every passing year, there is significant increase in the Cut offs. In the last 5 years, Cut offs for CGL Exam has seen an increase of over 30%. And as we all know that when there is much competition, the level of question arises.Now there is time to do the smart studies to candidates managing the SSC CGL 2017 syllabus, how much time, one requires for Preparation, the time management during exams. But the most important thing is to know the SSC CGL Syllabus and choosing the right books for the exam.

It is advised to all the aspirants to regularly check the SSC CGL 2017 notifications which will provide you so many information such as SSC CGL 2017 exam dates, SSC CGL 2017 syllabus, SSC CGL 2017 books, SSC CGL 2017 admit card, SSC CGL 2017 results, SSC CGL 2017 apply online and many more.If you have appeared in the CGL 2016, Exam, then you must be aware, that SSC had made some important changes in the Pattern and Scheme of SSC CGL exam and these changes will remain intact for SSC CGL-2017 too. But the best part of these changes in that All the CGL Tiers will now be held through Online mode (Computer based Exam), that means more Transparency, No chance of Paper leakage and quicker results. It is advised that you must choose the best SSC CGL 2017 books. But before selecting books you have to know about the syllabus of the SSC CGL 2017 Tier-1 and Tier-2.

SSC CGL 2017 Syllabus

The SSC CGL exam is divided into three tiers and you need to clear all the papers to qualify the exams. Each Tier has its own Syllabus, Weightage and Duration, but Tier-2 carries the maximum weightage.

Syllabus of SSC CGL Tier-1 stage

The Tier 1 is the very first stage of SSC CGL 2017 exams. Now we are going to discuss about the syllabus of the exams. This will give the candidates insights of topics that you need to prepare for each of these section:

English section

The English section contains the Spotting Errors, Antonyms, Synonyms, Grammar and the questions which are asked from comprehension. Recently an aspirant filed an RTI to SSC regarding the Syllabus for English section and SSC replied with the Topic wise, distribution of marks for English section.

General Intelligence and Reasoning

This section includes the verbal and non-verbal reasoning. The question for general intelligence and reasoning section is all depended on the time management. This is section which eat out your time with its unexpected twist in the questions.

Quantitative Aptitude

We can simply called Quantitative Aptitude the Math.  The Level of this Paper is up to 10th Standard Only. If, you are good at Math till Matric, then this section can be very much scoring for you. This section helps you in scoring most of the marks to give you a good percentage.

General Awareness

This is the mystery section and there is No Defined Syllabus for this section. Anything can be asked from anything. You could be asked about Questions on Polity, Constitution, General Science , Current Affairs etc.

Syllabus for Tier-2 stage

The Tier-2 is the 2nd stage to qualify the SSC CGL 2017 exams. The Tier-2 stage comprises of scoring the minimum cut off marks, as specified by the commission. For that, you need to score about CGL 2017 Tier-1 Cut off marks. This is made up of 4 papers in which Paper 1st and 2nd is compulsory while Paper-3 is only for those, who have applied for Statistical Investigator and Paper-4 is for those who have applied for Assistant Audit Officer and C&AG.

Paper-1:The Quantitative Abilities comprises of 100 Questions, with each Question Carrying 2 Marks. The overall marks of this Paper are 200 Marks and there is negative marking of 0.50 for every incorrect answer.

Paper-2:The English language & Comprehension tests your English Language Skills. Again, this Paper carries 200 Marks with 100 Questions carrying 2 Marks per Question. Here the penalty for wrong answers is 0.25 marks.

Paper 3:This Paper comprises of Statistics and is only for those who have applied for the post of Statistical Investigator Grade-II & Compiler. This Paper has duration of 2 hours and there are 100 Questions with 2 marks per Question. There will be deduction of 0.50 marks for every in correct answer.

Paper 4: Only those who have applied for Assistant Audit Officer and C&AG need to appear in this paper. This Paper has 2 Parts as discussed below:

  • First Part comprises of Finance and Accounts, for which there are 40 Questions, carrying 80 Marks (2 Marks per Question
  • 2nd Part will have 60 Questions on Economics and Governance, carrying 120 Marks

Exam Pattern

It is very important to know the exam pattern of the SSC CGL 2017. This will help in the planning to face the exam papers. Exam pattern makes the syllabus easy and very clear to the aspirants so that they can score high to go in the next level.

Exam pattern of Tier-1 paper

Tier-1 is the first stage of CGL Exam and all those applicants who successfully submit their CGL applications and are issued Admit Cards can appear in the CGL Tier-1 Exam. Moreover, only those candidates who qualify the Tier-1 exam can appear for Tier-2 Exam.

The Exam Pattern of Tier-1 Exam

  • SSC CGL 2017 Tier-1 Exam is tentatively scheduled to be held from 19th June to 2nd July, 2017
  • In CGL Tier-1 Online Exam (Computer based), there will be 100 Questions carrying 200 marks with overall composite time of 75 minutes.

General Intelligence and Reasoning (25 Questions / 50 Marks)

General Awareness (25 Questions / 50 Marks)

English (25 Questions / 50 Marks)

Quantitative Aptitude (25 Questions / 50 Marks)

  • While answering questions, be very careful, as there is penalty of 0.50 marks for each incorrect answer.

Exam pattern of Tier-2 paper

Tier-2 has 4 Papers and each Paper is of 200 marks. While Paper-1 and Paper-2 is compulsory for everyone, Paper-3 is for those who have applied for Statistical Investigator and Paper-4 is for those, who applied for Assistant Audit Officer

Paper-1 : Quantitative Abilities (100 Questions / 200 marks). Time : 2 Hours

Paper-2 English Language and Comprehension (200 Questions / 200 marks). Time : 2 Hours

Paper-3 : Statistics (100 Questions / 200 marks). Time : 2 Hours

Paper-4 Finance and Accounts (100 Questions / 200 marks). Time : 2 Hours

Changes in the Exam pattern

  • Tier-1 Pattern: In new pattern there is reduction in Time and Weightage of the subjects. As per the New pattern the other changes are:
  • The overall time for CGL Tier-1 online exam is 75 minutes only
  • of Questions has been reduced from 200 to 100 only.
  • Now there will be 25 Questions per Section. Earlier there were 50 Questions in each section.
  • Negative marking in Tier-1 Exam is increased from 0.25 to 0.50 marks


  • In Tier-2 Exam, there is No change in the Exam Pattern. Only change is the mode of exam from Offline to Computer based Exam.
Facebook Comments